The 2017 PANZ Book Design Awards shortlist announced

The 2017 PANZ Book Design Awards shortlist has been announced with winners to be presented at the awards ceremony in Auckland on 20 July 2017.

The Publishers Association of New Zealand (PANZ) established the PANZ Book Design Awards to promote excellence in, and provide recognition for, the best book design in New Zealand.

The entries are judged in seven categories:

  • Penguin Random House New Zealand Award for Best Illustrated Book
  • Upstart Press Award for Best Non-illustrated Book
  • Edify Award for Best Educational Book
  • Scholastic New Zealand Award for Best Children’s Book
  • Mary Egan Publishing Award for Best Typography
  • HarperCollins Publishers Award for Best Cover
  • 1010 Printing Award for Best Cookbook

With additional awards for Best Book, Young Designer of the Year and a People’s Choice Award.

Necessary Distraction covers

Necessary Distraction: A Painting Show designed by Arch MacDonnell, Toby Curnow, Sarah Gladwell & Oliver Worsfold, Inhouse Design

Cazador cover

Cazador — game, offal & the rest designed by Tim Donaldson and Amanda Gaskin, Sea Change Studio

Capsicum, Capsi go book

Capsicum, Capsi Go designed by Toby Morris


Left: My Mother and the Hungarians, and other small fictions designed by Aaron Beehre & Ilam Press. Right: Mātaki Mai Ana Te Ao: Te Tawhio Pihirei o 1981 designed by Tim Hansen, Fay & Walter.